Kapteyn, Murnane Win R. W. Wood Prize

Published: 05-03-2010
Henry Kapteyn.  Credit: Glenn Asakawa, University of Colorado.

Henry Kapteyn and Margaret Murnane won the R. W. Wood Prize of the Optical Society of America.  The prize is given for an outstanding discovery, scientific or technological achievement, or invention in the field of optics. Kapteyn and Murnane were recognized for their advances in the science and technology of high harmonics generation, with particular relevance to subfemtosecond pulse generation and attosecond-scale physics.

"OSA's Awards and Honors program is designed to identify and recognize excellence in the field of optics and photonics," said James C. Wyant, president of OSA. "This year's recipients have made contributions in diverse areas of optics -- from quantum information to LCD technology and beyond. OSA is honored to acknowledge these leaders for their distinguished accomplishments." 

JILA’s NSF Physics Frontier Center follows University of Colorado polices for ensuring harassment-free environments.  For more detailed information please read the whole Discrimination and Harassment Policy and Procedures.