Center News

Margaret Murnane Appointed to President’s Committee on the National Medal of Science
Published: 09-17-2010

Margaret Murnane is a Fellow of JILA and a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Physics and of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Colorado.She runs a multi-disciplinary research group using coherent beams of laser and x-ray light to capture the fastest dynamics in molecules and materials at the nanoscale. Dr. Murnane is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Optical Society of America, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She was awarded a John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Fellowship in 2000, the 2009 Ahmed Zewail Award of the American Chemical Society, the 2010 Schawlow Prize of the American Physical Society and the 2010 R.W. Wood Prize of the Optical Society of America. She received her B.S and M.S. degrees from University College Cork, Ireland, and her Ph.D. degree from the University of California at Berkeley.

Kapteyn, Murnane Win R. W. Wood Prize
Published: 05-03-2010

Henry Kapteyn and Margaret Murnane won the R. W. Wood Prize of the Optical Society of America.  The prize is given for an outstanding discovery, scientific or technological achievement, or invention in the field of optics. Kapteyn and Murnane were recognized for their advances in the science and technology of high harmonics generation, with particular relevance to subfemtosecond pulse generation and attosecond-scale physics.

"OSA's Awards and Honors program is designed to identify and recognize excellence in the field of optics and photonics," said James C. Wyant, president of OSA. "This year's recipients have made contributions in diverse areas of optics -- from quantum information to LCD technology and beyond. OSA is honored to acknowledge these leaders for their distinguished accomplishments." 

Kapteyn, Murnane Awarded Schawlow Prize
Published: 01-13-2010

Henry Kapteyn and Margaret Murnane won the 2010 Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science for their pioneering work in the area of the ultrafast laser science,including development of ultrafast optical and coherent soft x-ray sources. The prize consists of $10,000, plus an allowance for travel to the meeting at which the prize is awarded. Kapteyn and Murnane also received  a certificate citing their contributions to basic research that uses lasers to advance our knowledge of the fundamental properties of materials and their interaction with light.


JILA’s NSF Physics Frontier Center follows University of Colorado polices for ensuring harassment-free environments.  For more detailed information please read the whole Discrimination and Harassment Policy and Procedures.